Brú Ború Heritage Centre
Near Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
The Rock of Cashel or Carraig Phádraig, more formally St. Patrick’s Rock, is also known as Cashel of the Kings. Allegedly the site of the conversion of Aenghus (King of Munster) by St. Patrick in the 5th century AD. Most of the buildings on the site date back to the 12th and 13th centuries, when gifted to the Church. The buildings represent both Hiberno-Romanesque and Germanic influences in their architecture.
Located at the foot of the momentous Rock of Cashel, Bru Boru Heritage Centre offers a unique insight into Irish culture and heritage. This transpires through live performances of traditional Irish music and the unique Sounds of History cultural exhibition. On-site, there is also a craft shop, restaurant and café, along with the fascinating South Tipperary Genealogy suite.
From prehistoric raths to old-fashioned monasteries and historic townhouses, a Georgian Cathedral, state of the art library and Ireland’s 1916 Easter Rising/Irish War of Independence/ Irish Civil War Museum combined in the Cashel Folk Village, Cashel’s rich history really is reflected in its built heritage.